You Are Getting Sleepy

You Are Getting Sleepy

Lifestyle-Based Solutions for Insomnia

Paul Glovinsky, Arthur Spielman

$17.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

For readers of Arianna Huffington’s The Sleep Revolution—an individualized approach to sleep issues from the expert doctors who wrote The Insomnia Answer.
 
Good sleep is an elusive goal: The harder you try to fall asleep, the less likely you are to be successful. Insomnia is stoked by different habits, schedules, stresses, beliefs, and even personality types—but there is no single pill or therapy to reverse it. Sleep cannot be forced—ultimately, it must come to you.
 
While insomnia treatments can set the stage, the best thing a person can do to ready themselves for sleep is to get sleepy. This practical, easy-to-follow guide written by two founding experts in behavioral sleep medicine will help you achieve one of the most important parts of staying healthy: a good night’s rest. Taking into account the particular challenges that stand in your way to better sleep, Glovinsky and Spielman:
 

  • Discuss changes you can make to your daily routines to induce sleepiness
  • Walk you through applying standard cognitive behavioral treatments
  • Introduce new, promising interventions for managing anxiety, depression, an out-of-sync biological clock, dependence on medication, and more
 
True sleepiness is the only reliable portal to sleep. You Are Getting Sleepy will guide you there.
 
Praise for The Insomnia Answer
“The book to pull under the covers whether you’re fighting temporary insomnia . . . or a long-term sleep disorder.” —Health magazine
 
“For insomniacs who don’t want a cosmetic solution, this guide digs deeper, and is likely to get better, more permanent results.” —Kirkus Reviews


Author

Paul Glovinsky:
Drs. Paul Glovinsky are Arthur Spielman are recognized experts in Cognitive Behavioral Treatment for Insomnia, the field in which they collaborated for more than thirty-five years, co-authoring The Insomnia Answer in 2006. Glovinsky is the clinical director of the St. Peter’s Sleep Center in Albany, New York. Before his passing, Spielman was the associate director for the Center for Sleep Medicine at the Weill Cornell Medical Center and Professor in the Experimental Cognition Program of the City University of New York.|||Drs. Paul Glovinsky are Arthur Spielman are recognized experts in Cognitive Behavioral Treatment for Insomnia, the field in which they collaborated for more than thirty-five years, co-authoring The Insomnia Answer in 2006. Glovinsky is the clinical director of the St. Peter’s Sleep Center in Albany, New York. Before his passing, Spielman was the associate director for the Center for Sleep Medicine at the Weill Cornell Medical Center and Professor in the Experimental Cognition Program of the City University of New York.

Info

Reviews